Pub, Lectures, Pub - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Roy Slijkhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Pub, Lectures, Pub - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Roy Slijkhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Pub, Lectures, Pub

Door: Roy Slijkhuis

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Roy

27 Januari 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

So, this week I finally had my first lectures! It's kind of weird, I'm here for only a week and a half and yet it already seems like a long time since I've set foot in the Netherlands. Anyways, time for an update!

Definitely American:

Just shortly about my accent; it is completely changed into American. I can still speak in a British manner, but it actually takes quite some effort to keep that up. How I'm so sure I sound American? Aside from just asking, I'm getting a lot of compliments about my English, and that I must definitely be from America. The other day I was at Dunnes (supermarket) and the lady behind the counter asked me which state I was from. Some Irish sounds are also present, but it's definitely not there just yet. (There was someone who thought I came from Ireland, wouw! =D)

My first lectures:

So, I finally had my first lectures.I decided to take up two psychology classes as it kind of suits education (pedagogical side) and I always wanted to explore this section a bit more. I've got Social Psychology which is focused on behaviour of a human being as an individual and in groups and I've got Abnormal Psychology which discusses mental defects. Aside of these two subjects I've got Gaelic, which hasn't started yet and Philosophy. With Philosophy, we're studying Ethics which were in line with Plato and Aristotles. It's really lovely and broadens your view. Anyway, my weekend already started after wednessday's class!

Pubs, hanging around and more pubs:

So, one of my main activities has been going to other people's places and going to pubs. I already lost count of the amount of Guinness I've had thus far. (somewhere around 10-15 I guess, harder to remember after a couple of them ;) )I also discovered a combination of vodka and melon juice, which is pretty amazing. Aside of booze, I've been around my fellow internationals for quite a bit, hanging out at their places or going to pubs. Dolan is still one of my favourites because of their traditional (live) Irish music. However, there is some competition for them now. There is an alternative place called Baker's Place. They have my type of music, but must importantly it is the only place where they actually have GROLSCH! =D (de beugels!) Aside of that, it is much closer to the City Campus and they have a great place for a burger there as well.

King John's Castle:

Last weekend, we (the internationals) went to King John's Castle. The inside of King John's (@ the exhibitions) was not so fascinating. The Courtyard, however, was much more interesting. Especially the pillory was quite a popular place when it came down to taking pictures. The higher places in the castle also provided us with a nice view. It was at King John's where I got myself an Irish whistle! (an official Guinness one!) There was also an excavation site at the castle. With a flash, we were still able to take pictures, except for a place where a piece of bone was lying around. Immediately, ghost stories were made up, lovely =D

Ferchrekelèke èke anderest canstike:

To all the people who are Dutch, please read the title for this section first and find out what it is ;) I've been learning some words in different languages now and I must say it's really interesting to me. I've also learnt a few internationals a few Dutch lines or words. Whilst writing this, I noticed I already forgot most of them! frustrating! I should've written them down somewhere... Anyways, I'm bound to have a better (mainly French) vocabulary when I return. And now for the title of this piece of text; it is how one of the French people (sorry that I'm using it as an example!!) wrote "Verschrikkelijke ikke en de rest kan stikke", her pronunciation was actually pretty good!

Oh yes, about the pictures; I already put some on Facebook, but as internet here is really TERRIBLE, it stopped about halfway with uploading. It's going to take a while before I'll have all pictures on Facebook, this page and hyves.

Will keep you guys updated on the latest news, live from Limerick! ;) (oh yes, going to a pub yet again tonight, lovely! =D)

  • 27 Januari 2011 - 18:09

    Marina:

    Nice story, exept for the booze ofcourse! You still got time to play youre guitar?
    Psygology must be very interesting for you! Have a nice weekend and lots of fun!

    xxx

  • 27 Januari 2011 - 18:58

    Priscilla:

    ZUUPERD! Ik snap dat die buitenlandstage voor sommigen zo duur kan zijn :P dat moet je slim aanpakken (A)...

    Mja, ga je ook wel es naar een karaoke bar ofzo? :P Ik hoop echt dat wij ook zoiets gaan doen met alle internationale studenten in Wales xD

  • 31 Januari 2011 - 07:26

    Je Opa Uit Ede.:

    dank zij de automatische vertaler kan ik ook meegenieten van jou Ierse bezigheden. veel succes en plezier daar in Ierland.

  • 10 Februari 2011 - 12:37

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Roy,

    If I have to believe your 'postings' you'll probably be in a pub drinking a pint of Guinness ( or Grolsch) right now! Thanks for keeping us 'updated'. Having a great time, judging from your blogs, keep up the spirit! Very interesting subjects you do, so you'll come back as a wise philosopher! Enjoy, take care, greetz, Jan.

    P.S. Did you already visit the street where Frank McCourt lived -:) ?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

Roy vs Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

18 Mei 2011

The final countdown...

18 April 2011

2 Months later

14 Februari 2011

Cliffs, the 80's and more!

27 Januari 2011

Pub, Lectures, Pub

23 Januari 2011

One week down, hopefully lots to go!
Roy

Actief sinds 01 Jan. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 407
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15711

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 15 Mei 2011

Roy vs Limerick

Landen bezocht: