One week down, hopefully lots to go! - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Roy Slijkhuis - WaarBenJij.nu One week down, hopefully lots to go! - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Roy Slijkhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

One week down, hopefully lots to go!

Door: Roy Slijkhuis

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Roy

23 Januari 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

It's been a bit since I updated my blog page. I actually meant to do it the last couple of days, but I hardly had any time for it. I've actually been doing stuff with my fellow international students thus far and it has been AWESOME!! This must definitely be the "honeymoon phase" which I've heard about back in the Netherlands, because thus far everything has been absolutely amazing.

From British to American:

This is actually quite a shocker, one which I still cannot believe is happening. As some of you might know; I had quite a British accent. It is actually dying now! It has only been a week and my accent has already changed drastically. I've actually been asked a couple of times if I came from the U.S.A! A mere week's time here already managed to do that, let alone what four months will do... freaky really.

Party all night long:

I actually just woke up when I started writing this. Yesterday was quite a late night as well. I decided to go to bed at half past five, and that is not the first time; the same thing happened on Wednessday. I cannot quite remember at what time I decided to go home Friday, but it was something like 2 A.M. I think. I can't really decide what I believe to be the best pub thus far. I've been to Dolan's, which is a traditional Irish pub with actual LIVE Irish folklore music. The other place which I really loved was Baker's, where they have alternative rock music (how awesome is that?!).

Shopping spree!

I've done a lot of shopping in Limerick as well. It is pretty much becoming a daily issue. Unfortunately, I did not do some serious shopping as in looking for clothes and stuff, it was more to get the essentials for my place and doing groceries. However! I did find a place called "Penny's" which is apparently quite the same as a primark! I am sure I will spend quite a bit of time in that place sooner or later!

Slow as in Sloooooooooowww internet:

Unfortunately, the internet speed here isn't that great. I tried downloading a series (Glee, if you wish to know) and it reached 13% after about 5 hours. After that it actually died out on me. Also, I watch Dutch football from time to time, but it keeps lagging a LOT. shame really. At least I can still get updated on that kind of stuff (FC Twente!!)

That's pretty much all for now. I'm going to John's Castle in an hour or so with some of my fellow internationals (great people really, I've already grown quite fond of them!) Ow, by the way: Limerick City (a.k.a. Stab City (Yes Priscilla, I got the nickname from you =P)) Isn't that bad at all. You just have to know the no-go spots and you're fine =)

I still have to get some pictures and upload them, but suffice to say I will still do so!

  • 23 Januari 2011 - 14:35

    Priscilla:

    YAY! American accent!!! :D ...BUT! DUDE! You have an Australian house mate! HANG OUT WITH PADDY (or Kelly's mate Caitlin) MORE OFTEN! :P hehehe..

    Good to see that you're willing to get into Glee. My advice: www.fastpasstv.com. Channels > TV > G > Glee :)

    Nice to know that it isn't such a bad place after all, but I still don't like the thought about those gangs in "your backyard" :P Not as if I'm worried or something, but I wouldn't want to live there if you know what I mean.

    Anyway, PLEASE upload some photos. I'm going to kill y'all with photos, blogs and stories once I'm in Caerleon..

    Keep us posted! :)

    xx

  • 23 Januari 2011 - 16:23

    Marina:

    An american accent????......where the hell, that came from? That's not possible!!!
    Irish o.k., but american????
    Maar fijn dat je het geweldig naar je zin hebt. Ik hoop dat het zo blijft, dan heb je een fantastische tijd!
    Waar blijven de foto's? Ik ben heel nieuwsgierig hoe alles eruit ziet.
    Ik denk dat we toch even zelf moeten komen kijken en samen naar de pup moeten....leuk!!

  • 24 Januari 2011 - 00:41

    Roy Slijkhuis:

    Just shortly about the accent... it is really funny, we were at one of the internation students' (Ingeborg) place and she has Irish roomies. They actually thought I came from Ireland!! xD

    So I guess my accent is now slightly being promoted to Irish, within a week already. They were shocked to hear that I sounded British right before I left =P

  • 24 Januari 2011 - 12:05

    Marina:

    That's better!!!
    I really like the irish accent, so sweet!!
    Of pas je je accent aan, aan je gesprekspartner? Heel sociaal hoor!!

  • 24 Januari 2011 - 23:27

    Werner Snoeks:

    Sounds like yer having a blast chap! I totally recognise the changing accents thing, you're not the only one.

    Can't remember if I gave you this advice or not, so I'll do it again just to be sure.
    NEVER date an Irish catholic, it is extremely frustrating.

    You can the take the girl out of cork...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

Roy vs Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

18 Mei 2011

The final countdown...

18 April 2011

2 Months later

14 Februari 2011

Cliffs, the 80's and more!

27 Januari 2011

Pub, Lectures, Pub

23 Januari 2011

One week down, hopefully lots to go!
Roy

Actief sinds 01 Jan. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 383
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15701

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 15 Mei 2011

Roy vs Limerick

Landen bezocht: